Top guns: Steele names four key state House leaders

CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 19-Nov-2010

House Speaker-elect Kris Steele today named four lawmakers to serve in leadership positions.

State Rep. Dale DeWitt of Braman, will serve as House Majority (Republican) Leader, a newly created position. State Rep. Dan Sullivan of Tulsa will serve as the Majority Floor Leader. Rep. Earl Sears of Bartlesville will serve as chair of the House Appropriations and Budget Committee, while state Rep. Skye McNiel of Bristow, will serve as Majority Whip.

“With their combination of legislative know-how and political instinct, I am certain Representatives DeWitt, Sullivan, Sears and McNiel will serve our state well in these important leadership roles,” Steele said. “I am confident in their abilities and look forward to working with them in the days ahead.”

As House Majority Leader, DeWitt will facilitate leadership meetings, assist in communication with the state Senate and Governor’s Office, and help guide the majority agenda through the legislative process.

“I believe it is the job of the Speaker of the House to rise above partisanship as much as possible,” Steele said. “As Majority Leader, Representative DeWitt will join me in representing the issues important to our caucus, thus allowing me to maintain a focus on the needs of the Legislature as a whole.”

“As we develop our agenda and work through the legislative process this year, it is important that the Speaker’s office has an open channel of communication with all interested parties, and I am excited to serve in that role,” DeWitt said. “Maintaining a unified caucus with common goals will be crucial to our success and I look forward to the job.”