The Oklahoma Democratic Party Announces Award Recipients for the 23rd Biennial Carl Albert Dinner

Oklahoma City – The Oklahoma Democratic Party will hold its 23rd Biennial Carl Albert Awards Dinner Saturday, June 3, at 7 p.m., honoring the former speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, Carl Albert.

Carl Albert, twice next in the line of succession to the presidency, is still the highest-ranking federal official in Oklahoma history.

Approximately 500 guests are expected to attend the event, beginning with a 5:30 p.m. Chair’s Reception at the Tulsa Cox Convention Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Attendees will have the opportunity to meet the Honorable Beto O’Rourke of Texas as the evening’s keynote speaker.

The evening’s award winners are as follows:

Carl Albert Lifetime Achievement Award – George Krumme, Demetrius Bereolous, Sally Frasier (Posthumously), and Jana Lewis Harkins

Opio Toure Statesperson Award – State Senator George Young Sr. of Oklahoma City

Bob Lemon Humanitarian Award — Sally Frasier (Posthumously)

George Nigh New Leader Award – Emily Gamel, Kit Waters, Joshua Harris-Till

For tickets and additional information about the upcoming convention, visit

For more information about the Oklahoma Democratic Party, visit the party website at, or call party headquarters at 405-427-3366.