Steele announces House leadership appointments

CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 29-Dec-2010

Oklahoma House Speaker Kris Steele today (Wednesday, December 29) announced key leadership appointments for the 2011 and 2012 legislative sessions. The latest announcements build on earlier disclosures of committee assignments and leadership.

“Given the significant challenges facing our state, it is critical the Legislature focus on conservative, pro-growth policies that will move Oklahoma forward,” said Steele, a Shawnee Republican.

“I believe that we have chosen a team of effective leaders who will ensure the upcoming legislative session is conducted professionally and efficiently to maximize our accomplishments.”

The leadership appointments for the Oklahoma House of Representatives are as follows:

Assistant Majority Floor Leaders:

•                Mike Jackson, R-Enid

•                Gary Banz, R-Midwest city

•                Dennis Johnson, R-Duncan

•                Lisa Billy, R-Purcell

•                George Faught, R-Muskogee

•                Leslie Osborn, R-Tuttle

Assistant Majority Whips:

•                Mike Sanders, R-Kingfisher

•                Steve Martin, R-Bartlesville

•                Randy McDaniel, R-Edmond

•                Marian Cooksey, R-Edmond

•                Fred Jordan, R-Jenks

•                Dennis Casey, R-Morrison

•                Corey Holland, R-Marlow

•                Paul Wesselhoft, R-Moore