Senate Republicans elect leadership team

CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 17-Nov-2010

Oklahoma Senate Republicans elected the remaining members of their caucus leadership team on Tuesday, November 18.

Last week, Senate Republicans named Sen. Brian Bingman of Sapulpa, to serve as the second Republican in the Senate’s top leadership post, President Pro Tempore. Also last week, Bingman named Sen. Mike Schulz of Atlus to serve as Majority Floor Leader.  Rules were also changed at that time to add a fourth whip to the majority caucus as well as a caucus vice chairman.

Also on Tuesday, the new and re-elected members of the state Senate took their formal oaths of office.

Senate Republicans elected these members as their leadership team:

Assistant Majority Floor Leaders:
 Sen. Anthony Sykes of Moore,
Sen. Clark Jolley of Edmond,
Sen. John Ford of Bartlesville.

Majority Whips:
 Sen. Cliff Branan of Oklahoma City,
Sen. Dan Newberry of Sand Springs,
Sen. Gary Stanislawski of Tulsa,
Sen. Rob Johnson of Kingfisher.

Majority Caucus Chairman:
 Sen. Bryce Marlatt of Woodward

Majority Caucus Vice Chairman:
 Sen. David Holt of Oklahoma City.

“Congratulations to the members of our Majority leadership team. I am excited for the opportunity to work with this exceptional group of senators.  We have many difficult tasks at hand, but with our leadership and outstanding caucus, we’re up to the challenge,” stated Bingman.