Oklahoma State Senate transitions to 40-8 Republican majority

OKLAHOMA CITY – Members of the Oklahoma state Senate will be sworn into office at 11 a.m. on Tuesday, November 18 in the Senate Chamber. Both newly elected and returning Senators will take the oath of office, according to Senate President Pro Temp Brian Bingman, R-Sapulpa.

As a result of the 2014 election, Republicans have increased their ranks to 40 members, while eight Democrats will establish the minority party’s caucus. 

This is the most dominant presence for any one party since the 1960s and 1970s, when then-Sen. Frank Keating presided over a “single-digit” caucus.

Here are the names of the newly elected members of the Oklahoma State Senate.

District 2: Marty Quinn (R-Claremore), Former House member representing District 9. Shelter Insurance agency proprietor. Succeeds Sean Burrage.

District 5: Joseph Silk (R-Broken Bow), Former petty officer in the Coast Guard. Vacation property manager. Succeeds Jerry Ellis.

District 8: Roger Thompson (R-Okemah), Newspaper publisher. Succeeds Roger Ballenger.

District 22: Stephanie Bice (R-Oklahoma City), Partner at a digital media consulting and marketing firm. Succeeds Rob Johnson.

District 26: Darcy Jech (R-Kingfisher), Insurance agency owner. Succeeds Tom Ivester.

District 28: Jason Smalley (R-Stroud), Former House member representing District 32. Technology consultant and Marine Corps veteran. Succeeds Harry Coates.

District 40: Ervin Yen (R-Oklahoma City), Cardiac anesthesiologist. Succeeds Cliff Branan.

District 42: Jack Fry (R-Midwest City), Midwest City mayor, businessman and former firefighter. Succeeds Cliff Aldridge.

District 46: Kay Floyd (D-Oklahoma City), Former House member representing District 88. Administrative law judge. Succeeds Al McAffrey.

District 48: Anastasia Pittman (D-Oklahoma City), Former House member representing District 99. Educator and radio host. Succeeds Connie Johnson.