Oklahoma Senate President Pro Temp Greg Treat announces appointments to state-tribal relations committee

OKLAHOMA CITY – The leader of the Oklahoma Senate announced Monday his appointments to the Joint Committee on State-Tribal Relations. According to a Senate staff press release, “The committee is responsible for overseeing and approving agreements between tribal governments and the state and consists of five members appointed by the speaker of the House and five members appointed by the president pro tempore of the Senate.”President Pro Tempore Greg Treat, R-Oklahoma City, appointed the following senators to the committee:

  • Sen. Brent Howard, R-Altus;
  • Sen. James Leewright, R-Bristow;
  • Sen. Greg McCortney, R-Ada;
  • Sen. Dave Rader, R-Tulsa; and
  • Minority Leader Kay Floyd, D-Oklahoma City.

“The Joint Committee on State-Tribal Relations is the appropriate entity to authorize and oversee agreements between tribal governments and the state. There are a myriad of opportunities for tribal governments and the state to work together that are good for the tribes and state. There certainly are complex issues to sort through as well. The senators on this committee are committed to carrying out this important work and continuing cooperation between the state of Oklahoma and tribal governments,” Treat said. The office of House Speaker Charles McCall, R-Atoka, told CapitolBeatOK.com, an independent news service based in Oklahoma City, that the speaker was still considering his appointment of House members for the joint committee. Note: Pat McGuigan contributed to this report.