Oklahoma House Republican leadership named
Share this Article: Twitter Facebook Republish Print
YouTube Video

Published: 09-Nov-2014

Oklahoma City – After maintaining a 72-29 majority in the Oklahoma House of Representatives in last week's election, the House Republican caucus selected leaders for the 55th Oklahoma Legislature.

House Speaker Jeffery W. Hickman will be the Speaker-elect for the upcoming session. Hickman is the seventh Republican speaker in state history and the sixth consecutive Republican speaker since the GOP took the majority in the House in 2004.

“The confidence of my fellow Republican House members is truly humbling, and I look forward to continuing our work to make Oklahoma a more prosperous state,” said Hickman, R-Fairview. 

“House Republicans have led the way to create greater economic opportunity for our citizens and authored legislation to ensure an even better state for future generations of Oklahomans.

 As the chamber closest to the people, we will continue to work hard on behalf of all Oklahomans.”

The Republican caucus also elected several other top leadership positions today.

The caucus chose state Rep. Lee Denney as Speaker Pro Tempore-elect. Denney is a veterinarian from Cushing and served as chair of the Appropriations and Budget Education Subcommittee for the past six years.

“I am honored and deeply humbled by the support of my colleagues,” said Rep. Denney, R-Cushing. “I look forward to working with Speaker Hickman and the newly elected members of our caucus.”

House Republicans also elected Rep. David Brumbaugh of Broken Arrow as Caucus Chairman, Rep. Elise Hall of Bethany as Caucus Vice Chairman and Rep. Katie Henke of Tulsa as Caucus Secretary.

“It is a privilege to serve the House Republican caucus as chairman,” said Rep. Brumbaugh, R-Broken Arrow. “With such a large freshman class of legislators, we have a great opportunity ahead of us to explore new ideas and build coalitions to better serve the people of Oklahoma.”

Brumbaugh is president/owner of DRB Industries, a leading company in the electric power industry. He served as vice chair of the Non-appropriated Subcommittee and served on the Government Modernization, Energy and Aerospace, and the Appropriations and Budget Public Safety Subcommittee. He also serves on the Executive Committee of the Energy Council and is a veteran of 101st Airborne Division.

Caucus Vice Chair Hall is a small business owner who operates Hall’s Pizza Kitchen. She was elected in 2010 and made history as the youngest woman elected to the Oklahoma Legislature.

“I thank my fellow caucus members for their confidence in electing me to this leadership position,” said Hall, R-Bethany. 

“I look forward to serving my constituents and the state. We must continue to work hard for and ensure the success and happiness of our neighbors.”

Caucus Secretary Henke has proudly served House District 71 for two years. A former teacher, she holds a Bachelor of Science in Childhood Education. She has also served as vice chair of the Appropriations and Budget Education Subcommittee.

“The role of secretary is a great honor,” said Henke, R-Tulsa. “I am thankful for the opportunity to serve my colleagues, as well as my constituents, through hard work and diligence.”

Last week's caucus meeting was the first for 14 new Republican members of the House. Newly elected members of the Oklahoma House of Representatives will be sworn in at the Capitol on Tuesday, November 18 at 10:30 a.m.

On January 6, the full House will convene for Organization Day to formally elect House leadership.  

sign up for email updates

Steal Our Stuff