Miller sworn in as Oklahoma’s 18th State Treasurer

CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 10-Jan-2010

Ken Miller was sworn in as Oklahoma’s 18th State Treasurer during inaugural ceremonies on the south steps of the State Capitol on Monday. Miller was elected with nearly 67 percent of the vote in the November 2010 General Election.

“In the Treasurer’s Office, I will continue my work for fiscal responsibility and a low-tax environment for Oklahoma businesses and citizens,” he said. “As treasurer, my top priority is to maximize tax dollars. Our office will continually strive for greater efficiency, transparency and accountability.”

A Republican from Edmond, Miller served for six years in the Oklahoma House of Representatives where he led the Appropriations and Budget Committee. According to a press release sent today to CapitolBeatOK, Miller guided the largest state spending cuts in state history while maintaining the delivery of core government services.

Prior to his election to the State Legislature, Miller served in the administration of Governor Frank Keating as chairman of the Legislative Compensation Board where he established a 10-year freeze on legislative salaries.

Miller has been an economics professor at Oklahoma Christian University for the past 12 years.

Miller holds a doctorate in political economics from the University of Oklahoma. He earned a Master’s of Business Administration from Pepperdine University and a bachelor’s degree in economics and finance from Lipscomb University.

Prior to his public service, Miller gained practical experience in the private sector. He began his professional career in banking at First American National Bank before joining MediFax-EDS, where he served as financial operations manager.