Inman names remaining leadership positions for 53rd Legislature

CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 01-Dec-2010

The House Minority Leader has announced the final leadership positions within the Democratic Caucus for the 2011-2012 legislative sessions.

Previously, Democratic Leader Scott Inman of Del City had named Chuck Hoskin of Vinita as the Minority Floor Leader. Inman has now unveiled the Minority assistant leadership team, the individuals who will work with Floor Leader Hoskin in all legislative efforts.

In a statement sent to CapitolBeatOK, Rep. Inman said: “I am extremely impressed with the values and work ethics of our leadership team, and I appreciate the strengths in the differences between each of them. I am confident in their skills and understanding of the challenges ahead, and I look forward to working with them in the coming session. “

Eric Proctor of Tulsa was appointed to serve as Deputy Minority Floor Leader, assisting Hoskin. Appointed Assistant Minority Floor Leaders were Wes Hilliard of Sulphur, Steve Kouplen of Beggs, Al McAffrey of Oklahoma City, Jeannie McDaniel of Tulsa, Wade Rousselot of Wagoner, and Mike Shelton of Oklahoma City.

Leader Inman appointed freshman legislator Donnie Condit of McAlister to serve as the Minority Caucus Secretary. Rep. McPeak of Warner was elected to serve as Minority Caucus Chair, and recently Rep. Joe Dorman of Rush Springs was elected by the caucus to serve as Vice-Chair.

Serving as Assistant Minority Whip will be Rep. Cory Williams of Stillwater, who will work closely with Minority Whip Ben Sherrer of Chouteau.

Inman concluded, “I am really pleased with our leadership team, as we’ve struck a great balance of rural versus urban legislators which will best reflect and represent Oklahoma’s population and needs.”