Incoming Oklahoma Senate President Pro Temp Greg Treat names leadership team, designates Stephanie Bice and Rob Standridge for key roles

OKLAHOMA CITY – Incoming Senate President Pro Temp Greg Treat, R-Oklahoma City, has named his leadership team for the 57th State Legislature. Key members include Sen. Stephanie Bice, R-Oklahoma City – designated Assistant Floor Leader — and Sen. Rob Standridge, R-Norman, named Majority Whip.

Treat said, in a statement sent to CapitolBeatOK and other news organizations, “I am honored that my colleagues have placed faith in me, and I’m ready to lead Senate Republicans forward to accomplish great things for Oklahoma and its people. 
“Our entire leadership team brings a wide range of talent and expertise to the Senate, and each of them is committed to working on common sense, conservative ideas to move Oklahoma forward.”

This fall, Treat selected Senator Kim David, R-Porter, to serve as Majority Floor Leader and of Senator Roger Thompson, R-Okemah, to serve as Senate Appropriations chair.
The GOP leadership team designated in December includes Bice, Standrige and these returning members of the upper chamber: 

    • Senator Jason Smalley, R-Stroud, Majority Caucus chair
    • Senator Frank Simpson, R-Springer, Assistant Floor Leader
    • Senator Dave Rader, R-Tulsa, Majority Caucus vice chair
    • Senator Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville, Assistant Majority Whip
    • Senator Casey Murdock, R-Felt, Assistant Majority Whip
    • Senator Marty Quinn, R-Claremore, Assistant Majority Whip
    • Senator Darcy Jech, R-Kingfisher, Rural Caucus chair

In addition to her leadership duties, Senator Bice will run the Senate Finance Committee. She will be a member of the committees on Appropriations (as vice chairman, and including the subcommittee on General Government and Transportation), and Business, Commerce, and Tourism.

In addition to his “whip” duties, Senator Standridge will run the Transportation Committee, serve as vice chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services, and on the committees for Health and Human Services, and Energy. 
NOTE: Pat McGuigan contributed to this report.