Counties oppose S.Q. 744 – Campaign surpasses 100 groups

CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 21-Oct-2010

The One Oklahoma Coalition announced this week that groups involved in the opposition to State Question 744 have surpassed 100 member organizations with the addition of the Association of County Commissioners of Oklahoma (ACCO).

ACCO is now part of the unprecedented and politically diverse group of state associations, organizations and individuals united in opposition to State Question 744,the controversial ballot initiative that came to the statewide ballot as result of a petition drive organized by the Oklahoma Education Association (OEA), the state’s largest labor union.

The Association of County Commissioners of Oklahoma is comprised of 231 county commissioners in all 77 Oklahoma counties. In a statement sent to CapitolBeatOK, Jerry Dean, Roger Mills county commissioner and president of ACCO said,  “ACCO is an advocate of improving our education system as well as the transportation system in Oklahoma. S.Q. 744 would only exacerbate devastating cuts to the very services county citizens depend on. It would also likely create a tax increase upon an already hard hit economy.”

The One Oklahoma Coalition is a non-partisan group including Oklahoma Farm Bureau, The TRUST Road & Bridge Coalition, The Oklahoma City American Federation of Teachers, the AFL-CIO, Laborers’ International Union of North America, Local 107, Greater Oklahoma City Chamber, Tulsa Metro Chamber, The State Chamber, Oklahoma Public Employees Association, American Farmers and Ranchers, Association of General Contractors, Oklahoma Bankers Association, the Oklahoma Hospital Association and dozens of other associations and organizations throughout the state.

The coalition asserts a belief that public policy should be advanced in a manner that improves all areas of state government including public safety, roads and bridges, healthcare, protecting the state’s most vulnerable, and other aspects of education such as early childhood, higher education and CareerTech – all of which, the One Oklahoma Coalition contends, would suffer if S.Q. 744 passed.

Jeff Wilson, campaign manager for the coalition said, “The announcement of the addition of these groups to the One Oklahoma Coalition brings an unprecedented level of unity among broad political interests that traditionally have had very differing philosophies.”

Members to the One Oklahoma Coalition include: Altus Chamber of Commerce, Atoka Chamber of Commerce, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, American Concrete Pavement Association, American Council of Engineering Companies of Oklahoma, American Farmers & Ranchers, American Federation of Government Employees, Local 916, American Lung Association of Oklahoma, Americans For Prosperity, Ardmore Chamber of Commerce, Associated Builders and Contractors of Oklahoma, Association of County Commissioners of Oklahoma, Association of Oklahoma General Contractors. Bartlesville Regional Chamber, Broken Arrow Chamber of Commerce. Chandler Nursing Center, Chickasha Chamber of Commerce. Cleveland Chamber of Commerce, Duncan Chamber of Commerce, Edmond Area Chamber of Commerce. Edmond Economic Development. Elmbrook Management Company, Enid Chamber. Enid Regional Alliance, Farm Credit of Oklahoma, Grace Living Centers, Greater Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce, Gregston Nursing Home, Inc., Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma, Indian Nations Council of Governments, Inola Health Care Center, Jenks Chamber of Commerce, and the Laborers’ International Union of North America, Local 107.

Also involved in the coalition are the Lawton-Ft. Sill Chamber of Commerce, Logan County Economic Development Council, Miami Chamber of Commerce, National Federation of Independent Businesses, Norman Chamber of Commerce, Oklahoma Academy of Family Physicians, Oklahoma AFL-CIO, Oklahoma Aggregates Association, Oklahoma Agribusiness Retailers Association, Oklahoma Agricultural Cooperative Council, Inc., Oklahoma Agriculture Aviation Association, Oklahoma Asphalt Paving Association, Oklahoma Association of Family Physicians, Oklahoma Association of Healthcare Providers, Oklahoma Bankers Association, Oklahoma Business and Education Coalition, Oklahoma Cattleman’s Association, Oklahoma Chamber of Commerce Executives Association, Oklahoma City American Federation of Teachers, Local 2309, Oklahoma City Federation of Classified Employees, AFT Local 4574, Oklahoma Community-based Providers, Inc., Oklahoma Cotton Council, Oklahoma Farm Bureau, Oklahoma Federation of Young Republicans, Oklahoma Grain and Feed Association, Oklahoma Grocers Association, Oklahoma Highway Users Federation, Oklahoma Hospital Association, Oklahoma Hotel and Lodging Association, Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association, Oklahoma Municipal Contractors Association, Oklahoma Municipal League, Oklahoma Nurses Association, Oklahoma Pharmacists Association, Oklahoma Pork Council, Oklahoma Professional Economic Development Council, Oklahoma Propane and Gas, Oklahoma Public Employees Association, Oklahoma Quarter Horse Racing Association, Oklahoma Recyclers Association, Oklahoma Residential Assisted Living Association

Oklahoma Southwest Alliance, Oklahoma State Home Builders Association, Oklahoma State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police, Oklahoma State Medical Association

Oklahoma Travel Industry Association, Oklahoma Trucking Association. Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association, Oklahoma Wildlife Management Association, and Oklahomans For Responsible Government.

Rounding out the opposition coalition membership are the Owasso Chamber of Commerce, Pauls Valley Chamber of Commerce, Redwood Healthcare LLC, Restoring Oklahoma Public Education, Rural Enterprises of Oklahoma, Rural Health Association, Sallisaw Chamber, Seminole Economic Development Council, Shawnee Chamber of Commerce, Shawnee Economic Development Council, Southwest Tulsa Chamber of Commerce, State Trooper Association, T.R.U.S.T. (Transportation Revenues Used Strictly for Transportation), The Northwest Chamber, The Repub Club, The State Chamber of Oklahoma, Town of Buffalo, Tulsa 912 Project, Tulsa Metro Chamber of Commerce, Whitetails of Oklahoma, Woodward Chamber and Woodward Industrial Foundation.