Conservative leaders release open letter to Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin and state lawmakers

OKLAHOMA CITY—The Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs (OCPA), along with Americans for Prosperity-Oklahoma and more than a dozen conservative leaders, released last week an open letter to Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin and Oklahoma lawmakers urging them to protect taxpayers. The text of the letter — provided to CapitolBeatOK and other news organizations — is below and can also be found here ( OCPA leaders said other signers will be added as the special legislative session continues.

Dear Governor and State Lawmakers,

We are a coalition of conservative citizens, many of us serving in leadership of state or local organizations, who write to urge you to address the need for more consolidation and other efficiencies in all areas of state government and to resist raising taxes on your constituents.

Many Oklahoma families and businesses are struggling and have been forced to reduce their own spending. Indeed, Oklahomans lost more than $13 billion in taxable income and reduced purchases by $4.1 billion in one year alone when oil prices collapsed.

And yet, Oklahoma’s total state government spending is at an all-time high. (

The state is now on track to spend more money next year—more than $17.9 billion—than at any time in our history. If you believe that certain state services are not adequately funded, we urge you to prioritize spending rather than raise taxes ( Limited government” and “lower taxes” have been winning campaign messages in Oklahoma over the last decade. Some candidates have even made written promises to oppose and vote against (or veto) “any and all efforts to increase taxes.” We encourage you to stay true to these principles and to oppose efforts to increase the burden of government on hard-working Oklahoma families.


Jonathan Small

Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs (OCPA)

John Tidwell

Americans for Prosperity-Oklahoma

Grover Norquist

Americans for Tax Reform

Steve Curry

Republican National Committeeman for Oklahoma

Ronda Vuillemont-Smith

Tulsa 9.12 Project

Tom Newell

Former chairman, General Government Oversight and Accountability Committee, Oklahoma House of Representatives

Michael Bates

Brandon Arnold

National Taxpayers Union

Jamison Faught

Andrew Lopez

Canadian County Republican Party

Daniel Schneider

American Conservative Union

Charles W. Potts

Oklahoma Republican Party executive committee member

John Michener

Oklahoma Conservative Political Action Committee

Lisa B. Nelson

American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC)

Ashley N. Varner

ALEC Action