Commission on Status of women presents ‘Guardian Award’ to Sen. AJ Griffin

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women (OCSW) recently presented the 2015 Guardian Award to Sen. 
AJ Griffin, R-Guthrie, at the Oklahoma State Capitol and elected its officers for this year.

Sen. Griffin was recognized for her legislative and other efforts advocating for Oklahoma women and families. 

Each year, the Guardian Award is presented to an elected official who has made significant governmental contributions to guarding, protecting and preserving the rights of women and families.

“She has worked tirelessly to author and pass legislation addressing prescription drug addiction, which has become Oklahoma’s fastest growing substance abuse issue, and legislation protecting victims of child abuse,” said OCSW Chair Lou Kohlman.

“Through her efforts on creating tax dollar efficiencies, streamlining agencies and improving county government operations, Sen. Griffin is making government services more accessible to Oklahoma families.”

Elected in 2012 to represent Senate District 20 in Logan County, Sen. Griffin currently serves as Vice Chair of the Senate Republican Caucus, Vice Chair of the Senate Energy Committee, and Vice Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Service. She is the Co-Chair of the Oklahoma Conference for the National Foundation for Women Legislators.

“Sen. Griffin’s numerous contributions to Oklahoma and Oklahoma women merit her receiving the 2015 Guardian Award,” said Kohlman.

At the Commission’s monthly meeting, the 2015-2016 officers were elected.

Current chair Lou Kohlman was elected to a third term, and Dr. Maria Trapp-Braly was elected Vice Chair; Karen Sneary as Secretary; Victoria Woods as Financial Officer; and Adeline Yerkes as Advisory Council Chair.

The Commission is comprised of 30 appointed members who serve five-year terms.

Current Commission members include Maj. Gen. Rita Aragon, Brenda Barwick, Mary Louise Binning, Beverly Binkowski, Sarah Brown Hummel, Patty Bryant, Rep. Lee Denney, R-Chickasha, Sen. Griffin, Linda Haneborg, Estela Hernandez, Denise Kinzie, Jean S. Lehr, Valeska Littlefield, Shondra McCage, Amy McCord, Bernice Mitchell, Chris Morriss, Dr. Terry Neese, Rep. Jadine Nollan, R-Sand Springs, Joyce Horton Sanders, Valerie Thompson, Gloria Torres, Nikki Watters and Kitti Asberry, Executive Director.

A news release from The Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women describes the group as “a strong, recognized and respected voice for the women in Oklahoma. We strengthen and empower women in Oklahoma by improving their opportunities and quality of life.

For additional information visit the group’s website, at”