Askins declares emergency in wake of flooding and severe storms
Share this Article: Twitter Facebook Republish Print
YouTube Video

Published: 14-Jun-2010

CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 14-Jun-2010

State officials declared a state of emergency on Monday (June 14) for 59 counties following severe storms and flooding that began on Sunday.

Lt. Gov. Jari Askins, acting governor while Governor Brad Henry is out of state, approved the paperwork declaring the emergency. Henry had asked Askins to act on the issue.

“We urge everyone to use caution as storms continue across our state,” Lt. Gov. Jari Askins said. “Once again our heroic responders have demonstrated the ‘Oklahoma Standard.’ I want to extend my thanks to the emergency crews and the news media for keeping the public safe and informed during this life-threatening crisis.”

Counties included in the release are: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Major, McClain, McIntosh, Mayes, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Oklahoma, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

The declaration provides a formal mechanism for local governments to seek reimbursement for recovery costs through the state’s disaster public assistance program should conditions warrant. The executive order is also the first step toward seeking federal aid should it be necessary.

Additional counties may be added to the executive order as necessary.

The State Emergency Operations Center was activated by the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management Monday morning.


sign up for email updates

Steal Our Stuff