As winter storms advance, Lt. Todd lamb declares state of emergency

OKLAHOMA CITY – At the request of Governor Mary Fallin, Lt. Governor Todd Lamb today declared a State of Emergency for 56 Oklahoma counties due the winter storm, excessive snow, and severe weather affecting many areas of the state. 

Counties included in the State of Emergency are: Adair, Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Cimarron, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Craig. Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Major, Mayes, McClain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Texas, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

This declaration may be amended to include additional counties as conditions warrant.

“The winter storm has already caused dangerous travel condition in northwest Oklahoma as well as sub-freezing temperatures,” said Lt. Governor Lamb. “I am urging Oklahomans in the impacted areas to take winter storm precautions and stay off the roads unless travel is absolutely necessary.  This is a very serious winter storm and we want Oklahomans to stay safe.”

The Executive Order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases related to disaster relief and preparedness. It is also a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Under the Executive Order, the state of emergency lasts for 30 days.